Skip to content

Meaning dependent on context

March 10, 2010

I photographed this sign in Scottsbluff this past weekend:

.

.

Were I living in another town, this might have been advertising for a bar or strip club.

But, no.

This is Scottsbluff.

The “chicks” are actually . . .

chicks.

Scottsbluff peep show

.

“The Mercantile” is a farm and ranch supply store at the edge of town. Or at least it was.

All over the news a few months ago was the sale of The Mercantile to Bomgaars.

The change doesn’t directly affect me. I’ve only been in a farm and ranch store once in my life thus far. (I have no idea what half the stuff in there is meant for. My little foreign car probably felt like a poseur in the parking lot, surrounded by all the American-made pick-’em-up trucks.)

I just hope that the folks running the Bomgaars have an equivalent sense of humor. Long live double-entendre sign verbiage!

(Side note: I wonder how the use of the terms “peep show”, “chick” and “strip club” will affect my blog traffic today. My highest-ranking post is the one in which I used the term “nudist colony”.)

UPDATE: the naughty words didn’t increase my traffic much, but they did increase the number of attempted spam comments.

Text copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw, image credit to ambrusorsi at sxc.hu

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 11:10 am

    That’s funny!

  2. March 10, 2010 11:32 am

    Here in town we have Jesus Saves Free Break Inspections! Cracks me up every time.

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      March 10, 2010 12:00 pm

      Ooo! Please do post!

Leave a Reply

