Skip to content

Oh give me a home, where my cell phone don’t roam

March 2, 2010

I’d heard of cell phone tower installers getting creative in the face of nimbyism, but I hadn’t noticed a “sculptural” cell phone tower until I went to California in 2007.

Two species of California cell-palm.

This past weekend, driving north on I-25 in Wyoming (I think it was Wyoming at that point, but it may have still been in Colorado), I spotted a silhouette on a hilltop.

Uh . . . that looks kinda buffalo-ish. But there aren’t any buffalo here anymore, unless someone’s ranching them. And I don’t think buffalo stand solitary on a hilltop like that. And it looks a little big, actually.

Oh! It’s a giant, metal silhouette of a buffalo that some quirky landowner put up there to fool the tourists! How droll. Ha ha. But wait a minute . . .

That “buffalo silhouette” has a bunch of projections coming out of it (which are a little hard to see in the photo). That buffalo is a cell phone tower!

Gotta love that Western ingenuity.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 12:09 pm

    AHA! cool–

Leave a Reply

