Skip to content

Why I’m not watching the Olympics

February 26, 2010

The closing ceremony of the Winter 2010 Olympics in Vancouver is this weekend, and I won’t be watching.

OK, so I’ve not been the hugest fan of the Olympics. The last time I remember actively watching the Games was summer 2006. I was in Australia at the time, and all the Australians kept throwing good-natured Olympics trash talk at me when they found out I was an American. I had to watch so I could effectively trash-talk back!

But I really do want to watch the winter 2010 Olympics, mainly thanks to Facebook. I’ve got friends from all over the country posting tidbits  . . . about biathlon, figure skating, slalom, hockey, curling (and the Norwegian team’s pants) . . . and I can’t really participate in the conversation. A New York Times blog post discusses this recent phenomenon of the Internet driving television traffic.

But I can’t go there.

I’m too cheap to pay for cable or satellite TV (and I don’t need the extra distraction anyway), so I rely on over-the-air TV broadcasts.

I could get Dick Clark's New Year's Rockin' Eve on ABC, and the Superbowl on CBS, but no NBC, so no Olympics.

Here in western Nebraska, I can watch ABC out of Rapid City, South Dakota.

And CBS out of Cheyenne, Wyoming.

And that’s it.

No PBS (though according to the FCC, I should be able to get this channel.)

And no NBC, which means no Olympics.

Rival ABC suggests some ways to enjoy the Olympics without a TV. One of the suggestions is to look online for streaming video clips. I tried checking out NBC’s Olympics website, but the site is really cluttered, and they want me to install another viewer program on my browser. My computer’s slow enough as it is; I don’t need another program to bog things down further. And, if I’m not watching the same things at the same time as my friends, it kinda defeats the point. Oh well.

I got to watch Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve on South Dakota ABC. I could watch the Superbowl on Wyoming CBS. Yes, I’m missing the Olympics. But most of the time, I turn on the TV, realize there’s nothing but junk on, turn off the TV, and go on to other things. Which really isn’t so bad.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 10:14 am

    I have cable for my guests–don’t watch TV–more important things in my life!

  2. February 26, 2010 3:09 pm

    The Norwegian team’s pants have their own facebook page. I had NO idea what was going on when my friend fanned them so I went to look — and became a fan myself.

Leave a Reply

