Skip to content

A giveaway – live, at Five Rocks: Jimmy Fortune

August 9, 2012

The right concert, set outdoors on a soft summer night, has a way of pinging through the atmosphere to transport me into bliss.

Have you heard about the August 25 benefit concert for the Farm And Ranch Museum? It’s a country-gospel act: former Statler Brothers member Jimmy Fortune.

Jimmy Fortune has quite a few popular songs, like On The Other Side and I Believe. (I have to crack up for a moment about this song. I had never heard it except when my mother sang it when she was summoning my sister Beth.)

Five Rocks Amphitheater in Gering has an absolutely lovely view, and the summer nights around here are dry and cool off to fantastically comfortable temperatures.

This concert is a cornerstone of fundraiser support for FARM’s activities. Thanks to awesome sponsors  – this year, Regional West Medical Center, 21st Century Equipment, and WESTCO (Woooo! Props to sponsors!) – 100% of ticket sales go directly to FARM.

I am selling tickets (I have 20 of them!), and I want to make my own contribution to the effort. SO . . . .

I will buy two adult tickets and give them away to a randomly selected commenter on this blog post who shares a favorite summer memory. You can share as many memories as you like, but you’ll only get one entry per person. Deadline to post your comment: Noon (mountain time) on Saturday, August 18 – one week before the concert.

Just to kick things off, I will share one of my own favorite summer memories:

Sitting around a campfire in a tree clearing with my college pals, and looking up to see the lightning bugs in the trees overhead compliment the twinkling stars visible between the branches.

Ahhh . . . lovely!

Enjoy your trip down memory lane, share it here, and possibly win free concert tickets, courtesy of moi.

Good luck!

PS – If you enjoy country music and you don’t win the free pair of tickets, please, please, please: buy some tickets from me! I have 18 14 to sell! And if you buy them in advance you save $5 a ticket!

CONGRATULATIONS TO DAN RAMSEY, WHOSE NAME WAS SELECTED AT RANDOM TO WIN THE JIMMY FORTUNE TICKETS!!!

Post updated 8/13, 16/2012

Copyright 2012 by Katie Bradshaw

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2012 7:11 am

    Since this is a musical post, I will share another musical letdown memory.

    It was the summer of 1984 and a bright-eyed, fresh-faced 10-year-old boy named Shane was living in Huron, SD. Little did he know his world was about to get rocked!

    Shane’s father came home one day and announced that Huey Lewis and the News would be in town that September for the South Dakota State Fair. This was great news to Shane because he had been soaking in the Sports album from Huey Lewis, and with a fair amount of accuracy could sing along with most of the songs including: I Wanna New Drug, and Heart of Rock and Roll.

    Shane was stoked! Could this be his first live concert rock and roll experience? Would he be able to see his favorite rock and roller at the time, Huey Lewis?

    Alas, it was not in the cards for this rock lover. Shane’s father came home another day and announced that the family would be moving to Scottsbluff, NE in June of that summer, thus squashing the hopes and dreams of Huey Lewis.

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      August 10, 2012 7:38 am

      Oh! The disappointment is palpable! Perhaps your concert luck with change with this giveaway.

  2. Dan Ramsey permalink
    August 12, 2012 4:18 pm

    The night was clear and dark.
    The lake was warm and near.
    My mood was joyful and giddy
    It was my birthday and I had no fear.
    So in the water I carefully slid
    Up to my ankles, my waist, and my neck
    And when finally floating on my back
    I noticed the twinkling specks.
    The wonder of weightlessness,
    The awesomeness of space,
    The stars in all their glory
    Were shining upon my face
    “Never forget this” I told myself
    As God’s glory struck my heart.
    I floated there in shear silence
    My thoughts scattered apart
    Scared of the deep below
    Terrified of the expanse above,
    I realized how small I was
    And how God really must be love.
    Today I’m sure He showed this to me
    To give me this thought
    Of how He loves us all
    And of what his Son has bought
    So how can I describe it
    This memory from long ago?
    Impossible yet from this gift of faith
    I know that I know what I know.

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      August 12, 2012 7:02 pm

      Wow. Beautiful!

Trackbacks

  1. Cheers, Dan Ramsey « SCB Citizen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

