Skip to content

Shaking fist at the sky

June 20, 2012

The weather radio woke me up about four times after I went to bed at 9:30 this evening. Severe thunderstorm. I wished for rain. There was a response to my plea. Unfortunately, it came in solid form.

BANG! WHAM!

Oh crap.

Hail.

A screen grab of the NWS radar. This image is rated GD — “Garden is Doomed”

Two hailstones that happened to bounce up into the shelter of my east-facing porch and a half-dollar.

The hail drift outside my west-facing patio door. The deck was nearly completely covered. I was afraid to go near this door during the storm. I am glad it did not break. The back porch light is broken, however, and there are numerous 2-to-3-inch holes in the siding. The last storm we had, I could caulk the holes in the siding and not have to replace it. Not this time.

AND MY GARDEN!!! OH, BOO HOO, MY GARDEN!!!!! *wailing and gnashing of teeth*

What is left of my broccoli, which was just starting to crown.

What is left of my tomatoes, which were just starting to fruit.

I tell ya, this western Nebraska weather is enough to drive me to drink!

When life gives you hail, use it for a beer cooler!

Doubtful I will get back to sleep anytime soon. :-(

UPDATE: 6/24/12

A few days after the big storm, and it seems that all is not lost with my garden.

The eggplant in a pot further from the house sustained less damage than the plants in the ground closer to the house. It’s beginning to set fruit.

The pepper plant may have been severely pruned by the hail, but it’s still blooming.

The remnants of my cantaloupe plant is gamely putting out blooms, too.

The basil seed I planted hadn’t yet come up yet. Good thing. Compare the size of the seedlings with the craters left from the hailstones.

Copyright 2012 by Katie Bradshaw

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2012 7:42 am

    Nature — can’t live without her, can’t live without her.
    Good post for those who reflexively agree mit den Speisenfachmännern that we should all feed ourselves from the bounty of Rainbow Mother Gaia.
    As Grandpa said, “endure the bad years and enjoy the good years.”
    It’s early yet, your garden will come back. :)

  2. Suzie permalink
    June 23, 2012 3:45 pm

    I feel your pain! And believe it or not, your garden will recover more than you think. My tomatoes were thrashed three times last year. The August 9, 2012 storm decimated my garden (yes, I cried), and ensured there’d be no tomatoes. However the darn things kept putting out blooms. I didn’t have the heart to pull them up when they were trying so hard. Also, petunias are troopers. They do shake their flowery fists at the sky!

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      June 24, 2012 5:59 am

      Thanks for the comment, Suzie! I feel a little better. I think maybe you are right. Had the plants been a bit younger, they probably wouldn’t have made it, but the tomatoes, peppers and vining plants do seem to be coming back. Don’t know about the broccoli though.

  3. Suzie permalink
    June 23, 2012 11:59 pm

    [I meant the 2011 hail storm] :-)

Trackbacks

  1. Rain, please? « SCB Citizen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

