Skip to content

Inspired by the sunrise

December 6, 2011

The sunrise this frigid morning was so beautiful, it about made me cry. (I’m kinda sensitive that way.)

Sorry, no photos – I was driving to my place of employment after having dropped Bugman off at his, and it’s not real smart for me to try to drive and take pictures at the same time. Plus, it was too dang cold to stop and get out of the car. (My car thermometer registered about -4.)

Anyway, to describe the scene:

From the high ground near the extension center, I could look across town and see the southern valley wall. I just caught the edge of the molten sun as it oozed up over the eastern horizon, not yet so bright as to blind me, but just bright enough to tint pinkish-orange the sugar factory steam cloud arching northeastward in the breeze. Just bright enough to make the light dance as it filtered through an alley of steam thrown up from the irrigation canal, its banks lined with weeds bedazzled with frost.

The coldest days are often the most beautiful.

Copyright 2011 by Katie Bradshaw

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 7, 2011 7:54 am

    You paint a great picture with words!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

