Skip to content

Yes, I’ve been to The Pink Palace

June 30, 2011

At a gathering several months back, I admitted to never having been to The Pink Palace. Conversations came to a halt around me as several people uttered their surprise in unison.

“You’ve never been to The Pink Palace?!??”

You could almost hear the *vvvreeee* of a needle being yanked off a record. (Yes, I am old enough to know what that sounds like.)

Ooookaaaay. I guess I needed to go to The Pink Palace.

I got my first impression of the place as I was passing by McGrew (population 99) on Highway 92.

What the . . .?

There’s a big pink building in that little town! What is it, an old brothel?

I later learned that the Pink Palace is a restaurant. A good place to go for burgers and drinks.

Here’s a blurb from the Star-Herald’s 101 Things to Do in Wyobraska:

Pink palaces are usually associated with fairy princesses, but McGrew has its own version, which serves the community in a variety of ways. The Pink Palace — McGrew Lounge can be seen from Highway 92, so it draws a lot of curiosity seekers who receive a friendly welcome. Open seven days a week, the Pink Palace is open 11 a.m. to midnight, Monday through Thursday; 11 a.m. to 2 a.m. Friday and Saturday; and 2-9 p.m., Sundays. Prime rib and rib eye steaks are featured on Fridays, and in the fall, barbecued ribs are on Saturday’s menu. A large room is available for special gatherings. For more information on this regional favorite, call 308-788-1055.

Ohhhh.

Husband and I finally took a drive out to McGrew just to have dinner at The Pink Palace back in April. (Yes, this post has been hanging around for awhile.)

Note the order of importance on the sign: "beer, liquor, food."

It’s the kind of place where everyone turns and looks at you as you come in the door. It was a Saturday evening, and the bar area was full, so we had a lot of eyeballs on us.

We took a table, placed our order and looked around. There was a juke box and a pool table near where we were sitting. Here’s a view towards the bar:

The place was redolent of barbecue, so husband ordered off the aroma and got BBQ ribs.

I went for a burger, corn fritters on the side.

The BBQ ribs were okay (I’m not too fond of ribs, but husband liked them), the burger was “meh” and the fries weren’t my favorite. But those corn fritters . . oh my! They were very good, but too rich for me to finish them all.

I haven’t yet mentioned our appetizer. Fried okra.

This was the best fried okra I have ever eaten, and I’ve tried it at the Irmo, South Carolina, Okra Strut, where presumably they know how to fry up okra.

Conclusion: the Pink Palace is the place to go when I want something fried that’s not made primarily of potato.

Pink Palace-Mc Grew Lounge on Urbanspoon

Copyright 2011 by Katie Bradshaw

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Shane Coop permalink
    June 30, 2011 8:44 am

    I loved this post! I’ve lived in western Nebraska for the majority of my life and finally made it to the Pink Palace last year. My burger was “Meh” as well, but I can say I’ve experienced it!

    For a long time, during my younger years in the late 80s and early 90s, there were rumors floating around that prostitution was associated with the place. I haven’t heard that in recent years.

  2. June 30, 2011 3:40 pm

    I love your honesty!

  3. June 30, 2011 4:38 pm

    I LOVE that place, but I’ve never eaten any food there. I had a friend who worked there as a bartender for a while in the 80s. On slow nights she’d let us make up our own drinks and she’d make them for us. That’s where I first tried peach schnapps with half & half…and got really sick from the combination. It’s really yummy, though :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

