Skip to content

Sushi in Scottsbluff!

November 23, 2010

I’m not a huge fan of Asian restaurants in the United States (with the exceptions of Thai and Indian).

American “Chinese” food is usually so salty, it makes my fingers swell up, and I feel ill, so I generally avoid it.

Which I how I managed to remain ignorant for ten months about the fact that you can get good sushi in Scottsbluff.

I assumed Oriental House, 1502 East 20th, next to the newly-opened “Racks” liquor store, was the typical Americanized Chinese restaurant.

But someone told me they had sushi. Now that I know about Scottsbluff’s Japanese immigrants, the existence of decent sushi in town doesn’t surprise me as much.

I don’t exactly crave sushi, but I do enjoy it now and again.

When I lived in Champaign, Illinois, there were TWO sushi restaurants within walking distance of my house.

I rather missed the sushi.

It was time to go check out Oriental House.

Husband and I split an edamame appetizer and a sushi platter, served with green tea, of course.

It was a bit spendy, but, boy, did it hit the spot!

The miso soup was great - not overly salty. The edamame was unsalted that evening, too. Bully for me! And I just adore the piquant ginger salad dressing.

Aaaand, the sushi!

You can pick up the sushi with your fingers or with chopsticks and dip it in soy sauce in the little dish provided for this purpose. Tip: if you dip the type of sushi with fish-on-top-rice-underneath into the soy sauce without turning it upside down first, the liquid in the soy sauce will make the rice fall apart.

If you like, you can mix a bit of the horseradishy-hot green wasabi paste into the soy sauce to give it some kick. The pink pickled ginger in the dish in the foreground with the wasabi is for cleansing the palate between types of sushi.

Yum!

In addition to sushi, the menu has a wide variety of “Chinese” food, like Szechuan pork, General Tso’s chicken, and Kung Pao shrimp. Tofu and veggies are an option for non-meat eaters. There’s also teriyaki and udon on the menu.

The only downfall of our dining experience was the douchebag couple sitting side-by-side at the booth behind me. I don’t use the term “douchebag” lightly, but this couple was a runaway winner of that designation. Complaining about the food, conversing a little too loudly about intimate details, making smoochy-smoochy noises. Uck! Thank goodness they finally left! I felt bad for the waitstaff.

I’ll definitely return to Oriental House for sushi from time to time, but if Mr. and Ms. Douchebag are there again, I’m asking for a different table!

Oriental House on Urbanspoon

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2010 9:05 am

    When I go there for sushi, I feel like I’m pampering myself!

  2. Rick Myers permalink
    November 23, 2010 10:14 am

    We’ve had good sushi there, however we’re pretty spoiled with restaurants found in the Denver area where my sushi-loving daughter and granddaughter live.
    Have yet to try the new Asian restaurant in Terrytown, but have found that for the best and consistent quality Chinese food the China House in Gering suits our tastes.
    We have tried numerous Asian restaurants from Oregon to Vermont. Thai food in Stowe, Vt. and Portland, Ore. are by far our favorites.
    Still, we keep coming back to Erika and Wade’s China House. It is certainly worth a journey “across the river.”

  3. Michelle Foster permalink
    November 25, 2010 5:54 pm

    I love the Oriental House. After working on the same lot as them for a year and living less than a quarter mile away for two years, I visited there more often than I would normally. The staff would remember me and ask about work and the food was always a treat. I’d call in a sushi order there whenever I wanted to feel “sushi full.” That’s my healthy content feeling of satisfaction that is the opposite of the thanksgiving full I’m suffering through right now.

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      November 25, 2010 6:18 pm

      I know exactly what you mean by “sushi full.”

Trackbacks

  1. Dining adventure: the sushi love boat « SCB Citizen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

