Skip to content

Carmen’s Burritos

May 19, 2010

My across-the-alley neighbor told me he works at Carmen’s burritos (812 East Overland, across from Roosevelt School). He said they have the the best breakfast burritos.

I decided to give it a try and add to my Mexican restaurant list when I passed by it after the Cinco de Mayo parade.

I love that the restaurant looks so cute in a retro sort of way. (There was even an old-school coaster bike parked outside on the day we visited.)

When husband and I approached the door, a man held it open for us. I think he must have worked there, because he stayed there, opening and closing the door. Maybe to close it as quickly as possible to keep the heat in the building?

It’s pretty cramped inside. There are a few chairs along a counter attached to the wall. When people are waiting for their food, they have to dodge around other waiting patrons to get to the drink cooler, the coffee machine, the tub of salsa containers.

There are a couple of tables outside under an overhang.

We more or less randomly ordered quesadillas, potato enchiladas, and a carne asada burrito. All of it comes in styrofoam packaging, which makes me feel environmentally guilty. We also grabbed some containers of salsa, both red and green.

First, the salsa: the red stuff is basically thin tomato sauce, the green has some kick to it and is worthwhile to add to one’s food.

The potato enchiladas were greasy comfort food: plenty of fat and starch. The “potato” appeared to be pre-cut french fries. I wouldn’t order it again.

The quesadillas were nothing special. The carne asada burrito was greasy and salty and quite tasty, but rather unhealthful. I doubt I would order one again.

I’m not giving up on Carmen’s Burritos. I’m just getting tired of Scottsing’s lack of semi-healthful restaurant options.

Next time I go, I’ll ask what their specialties are, and whether they have more healthful items. I know they have chicken and egg options . . . perhaps those would be less greasy.

2012 UPDATE: Carmern’s Burritos has moved twice since I wrote this blog post. Their current location is west of the Terrytown traffic light on the 10th Street/Broadway connection between Gering and Scottsbluff:

Carmen's Burritos & Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2010 12:40 pm

    I was wondering to which location they had moved–

  2. Dee permalink
    April 12, 2012 3:39 pm

    I really like Carmens, HOWEVER–they constantly move from place to place… I really dislike having to chase them around!! If they would stay in one building for more than 6 months, than maybe they would have a more stable clientell :)

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      April 12, 2012 4:12 pm

      This reminds me – I should update the location on this blog. The constant moving is tough on restaurant bloggers, too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

