Skip to content

Taco Town

April 2, 2010

Taco Town, 1007 W 27th Street, is the most recent Mexican-type restaurant I’ve visited. Judging by the portraits on the walls, this family-owned place has been around awhile. And judging by the sign out front, proclaiming Taco Town to be the “Tac-O the Town”, the owners have a corny sense of humor. My kind of people!

The interior of the restaurant, reached via the entry on the drive-thru side of the building, seemed cavernous at the time I visited — only one family was dining in. The drive-thru seemed to be doing a brisk business.

The friendly young woman behind the counter was happy to make suggestions when I was baffled by the variety on the menu board. Taco Town carries a much broader array of items than just tacos. (Here, as at Taco de Oro, there seems to be a fondness for “pork-chili-smothering” one’s food.)

I tried a regular taco, a chile relleno, and a “fried burrito” (not smothered). Husband tried an enchilada, and he let me have a taste. The taco was chock-full of peppery, beefy goodness, along with cheese, lettuce, and tomato. The chile relleno was what I would describe as a “state fair” version; it tasted like a corn dog because of the breading (mmm . . . no thanks on this one). The fried bean and cheese burrito was okay. It tasted like chow mein noodles to me (Sino-Mex fusion??). The enchilada, with hot sauce added, was wonderfully garlicky (I could taste my little taste of it hours later), but it was too salty for me.

With the convenience of the drive-thru, Taco Town seems like a great place to pick up some nosh between 11AM and 9:30PM Monday thru Saturday (as with many places around here, you’re outta luck on a Sunday).

Taco Town on Urbanspoon

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 1:31 pm

    I’ve been there 2 times–second time because some else was paying–

  2. Ehubbard permalink
    April 3, 2010 5:02 pm

    Being a lifelong resident (and a lot longer life than yours), I have read with interest your views and laughed out load at some insights. I agree about the biking arounf SB/Ger. There is not good access from Pathway to residential area in SB and only the pathway route up CC road to get to gering.

  3. Michele Arnold permalink
    April 6, 2010 7:08 pm

    You ought to try El Molcajete (my personal favorite) on Overland. Great tomatillo salsa, good flautas, and the posole verde con pollo served on Wednesdays is tasty and actually not unhealthy (depending upon how many tortillas you eat with it)! This is the closest to what we are used to when we lived in San Antonio.

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      April 9, 2010 10:18 pm

      I’ve heard several recommendations for El Molcajate. I need to get myself over there!

  4. April 13, 2010 9:05 am

    I have to admit, the only thing I ever ate at Taco Town was tacos…I’ve never been an adventurous eater. Do they still put peas in the taco meat?

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      April 13, 2010 10:37 am

      Gosh. I didn’t notice any peas! I’ll have to eat there again and look closely.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

