Skip to content

Cabbage burger!!!

February 16, 2010

Mmmmmm . . . cabbage burger . . .

I had the opportunity to use another coupon from my welcome basket when I met a friend for lunch at the Bluffs Bakery, located at 1520 Broadway. I’d seen an online review of the Gering Bakery, which supplies the goods sold in the Scottsbluff store, so I was intrigued by the “cabbage burger” on the menu. It’s not a burger in a traditional sense; it’s a loose-meat bread-pocket sandwich similar to a Runza.

Similar, but not comparable.

Reaching back into the old SAT analogy format: a Runza sandwich is to a cabbage burger as a Ho Ho is to a Bûche de Noël.

Both have gluteny white bread that sticks to the roof of your mouth, and both have the ground beef, but the cabbage burger has cabbage!

As a descendant of German immigrants myself, I believe I possess the same “cabbage-as-comfort-food” neurons as a good portion of the population around Scottsbluff. When I was young, I *loved* sauerkraut. My grandpa called me “the sauerkraut kid”. One of my favorite sandwiches is a reuben decked out in crunchy sauerkraut. One of my favorite east Asian foods: kimchee.

I ♥ cabbage burgers! (Runza? Ick! Ptooey!)

The best part is, my coupon also allows me a free sandwich down at the Gering Bakery. This time, I will drag the husband out to experience the glory of the cabbage burger.

Oh, and I hear they have really good doughnuts. I’ve got a coupon for that, too.

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 9:32 am

    Thanks for the Kimchee link! I have never heard of cabbage burgers before, I’ll have to look around for one ;)

  2. Frances Goedert permalink
    May 12, 2011 4:30 pm

    I’ve been cooking for Lions Club for 12 years. I first eat the cabbage burgers when my
    sisterinlaw and he husband was visting us and she made them. Now I make them all the time. I make them and put them in the freezer their great to have for a quick lunch.

Trackbacks

  1. Gering Bakery « SCB Citizen
  2. Issei in Scottsbluff « SCB Citizen
  3. Rebelling against a suggestion – a reason to finally make homemade cabbage burgers « SCB Citizen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

