Skip to content

“Mexican” restaurants

January 14, 2010

One of the benefits I perceived in moving to Scottsbluff was the ethnic makeup: according to the 2000 census, 23.6% of Scottsbluff citizens claim Hispanic origin, which means that a lot of Spanish is probably spoken here too. I consider this a plus because one of my life goals is to become somewhat fluent in Spanish. (I have a looong way to go, since I’ve only taken one formal class and am really bad with verb tenses. Oh, and I’m a bit shy about actually using my Spanish skills, which doesn’t help with the learning process. But, I digress . . .) I also consider this a plus because I love Mexican / Tex-Mex / South American food.

I really don’t know much about what is “authentic Mexican” versus the more Americanized Tex-Mex, or about food from the different regions of Mexico and countries further south. But I do know that I like corn and beans and cheese and peppers. I’ve been introduced to ceviche and pupusas, homemade tamales and empanadas. Yum!

There are lots of Mexican/South American-type restaurants in town. Here is a list of likely-sounding candidates from the most recent Scottsbluff phone books (though I suspect several of the establishments have closed):

  • Azteca Imperial Restaurant
  • Carmen’s Burritos and Restaurant
  • El Charrito Restaurant and Lounge
  • El Mexicano
  • El Mocajete
  • Hacienda Los Garcia
  • Hillary’s Tamales
  • La Plaza Restaurant
  • Las Siete Americas
  • Mi Paisano Grill
  • Mi Ranchito II Restaurant
  • Rosita’s
  • Rya Taqueria
  • San Pedro
  • Sandy’s Burritos
  • Taco de Oro
  • Taco Town

Locals have strong opinions on which is the best or most authentic Mexican food. I’ll have to check them out myself!

Text copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw. Image credit to jeinny at sxc.hu.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacie permalink
    April 5, 2010 4:57 pm

    Carmen’s has the best breakfast burritos. Mi Ranchito has changed it’s name but still has the same location, and is a little more “authentic” and my mom’s favorite place to go. San Pedro’s is newer but also a new favorite, and they usually have great drink specials on Saturday and Sundays! TDO is definitely a favorite, and I see you’ve already gone (go there on a Saturday afternoon…it’s packed but for locals its fun to see so many people you know!) Get the panchos at Rositas, and Hacienda los Garcias is great if you need to feed a lot of people (they have excellent enchiladas). Enjoy, and look out for a new Mexi-restuarant opening about everyone month or so. It’s sort of a running joke in town…but a fun one!

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      April 9, 2010 10:20 pm

      I appreciate the recommendations!

  2. April 9, 2010 1:01 am

    You have to try El Charritos some time. They have my favorite pork chile (I like spicy) and their smothered enchiladas and combo plates are the bomb.

    I have spent a lot of time during my travels around the country trying to find better Mexican food than what we have in Scottsbluff, and I have not been able to find it. El Paso is close, but I still find the best is right here.

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      April 9, 2010 10:17 pm

      Thanks for the recommendation!

Trackbacks

  1. San Pedro « SCB Citizen
  2. In Mitchell again: La Joya and Prairie Vine « SCB Citizen
  3. Taco de Oro « SCB Citizen
  4. Rosita’s « SCB Citizen
  5. El Molcajete and Platte Valley Creamery « SCB Citizen
  6. Carmen’s Burritos « SCB Citizen
  7. Issei in Scottsbluff « SCB Citizen
  8. Grandpa Chuy’s restaurant in Torrington, Wyo. « SCB Citizen
  9. Tacos Mexico! « SCB Citizen
  10. Norwegian Mexican food? « SCB Citizen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

